Teachie the Englishie

Time for a new post! Here’s a mismash of thoughts/happenings to give you a little glimpse into my Korean Life.

  • I spent this past weekend at the beach, people watching on some Koreans. One thing I will never understand: Why go to the beach if you’re going to be wearing long sleeves, pants, and high heels? Are you really that afraid of the sun and his big bad rays? Also, how does one walk on the sand in heels? I think it’s a skill I will never (care to) master).
  • I realized that no matter how cool/badass/intelligent I think I may be, if a child hands me a ringing toy telephone, I’ll always answer it. Stay awesome, Crehan.
  • There is nothing cuter than a little Korean child.
  • My Kindergarteners have recently taken to sarcasm as a means of communication. Case in point: This week I was standing in front of the class trying to teach those little monkeys how to count backwards from 100 in English (no small feat, I pat myself on the back for this small victory) when my foot slipped off the chair I was leaning on, causing me to bump into my desk. My sassy-est student, Aiden, said (in the most perfect English pronunciation that I’ve heard from him all year) “Wow! Good job Teacher!” Thanks for putting me in my place, kid.
  • While I was explaining the intricacies of Mother Theresa and her penchant for helping to poor to a room of 8 year-olds, one of my students raised his hand and said “Teacher, why Japan, Korea [bombing and explosion sound effects and hand gestures here, which I can only assume are evident of Korean invasion during WWII and the Korean War], Mother Theresa no help?” Great question, kid. I can’t begin to explain why good ole Mommy Terry didn’t stop Korean occupation during the wars in broken English, but thanks for following along.

That’s it for now, but as the adventures continue, so will the posts ๐Ÿ™‚


4 comments

  1. I always wondered about the way girls in Korea dress for various activities, also! Who climbs mountains in high heels?? …Koreans.

    • Haha it’s so true! I don’t know whether to laugh or be impressed, so usually I do both. My favorite are the girls who wear heels at the beach. How do you walk on sand in those things?

  2. Hello ms. Crehan. I was thinking “gosh how do in contact with katie while she’s in Korea?” and I remembered I had this account. I don’t have much to say rather than wish I was there or you here. I love the Internet. I will never lose you because of it.

    • Damien! I’m so glad you found me and commented! It’s great to hear from you, and yes, technology is grand. You should get Skype so we can video chat because that would be amazing.


Leave a comment